DEVAS Camp 2013 was held June 11th at OU's Devon Energy Hall. Students use common items to build a touchpad at DEVAS Camp 2013. ARRC radar PX-1000 captured the Moore tornado on May 20, 2013. ARRC/ECE student Kevin Windham helped with the rescue & recovery effort in the aftermath of the May 20, 2013 tornado in Moore, OK. ARRC GRA's Jim Kurdzo, David Bodine & Feng Nai collect supercell data with the Atmospheric Imaging Radar near Snyder, OK on May 9, 2013. Twenty-three minutes of supercell data at rapid-scan rate, covering a range of 4-15 km, was collected with the AIR radar on May 9 near Snyder, OK. Dr. Boon Leng Cheong looks at a mobile radar at the National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Prevention (NIED), Japan.

Welcome from the Interim Director

Welcome to the Advanced Radar Research Center at the University of Oklahoma! The ARRC consists of a vibrant group of faculty and students from both engineering and meteorology, focused on solving challenging radar problems and preparing the next generation of students. Through the collaborative nature instilled in its members, the ARRC has proven effective at developing synergy between science and engineering in the field of radar. In the National Weather Center and in its extensive laboratory and radar facilities, meteorology and engineering faculty and students work side-by-side to learn from each other and to tackle tough problems in remote sensing, microwave engineering, and applied electromagnetics. This interdisciplinary esprit de corps has already had a profound effect on both the undergraduate and graduate educational experiences in radar provided to OU students. -- Tian Yu


New Book – Radar Hydrology: Principles, Models, and Applications

Published: December 23, 2014 by CRC PressRadar Hydrology: Principles, Models, and Applications provides graduate students, operational forecasters, and researchers with a theoretical framework and practical knowledge of radar precipitation estimation. The only text on the market solely devoted to radar hydrology, this comprehensive reference:

Begins with a brief introduction to radar

Focuses on the processing of radar data to arrive at accurate estimates of rainfall

Addresses advanced radar sensing principles and applications

Covers radar technologies for observing each component of the hydrologic cycle

Examines state-of-the-art hydrologic models and their inputs, parameters, state variables, calibration procedures, and outputs

Discusses contemporary approaches in data assimilation

Concludes with methods, case studies, and prediction system design

Includes downloadable MATLAB® content

Flooding is the #1 weather-related natural disaster worldwide. Radar Hydrology: Principles, Models, and Applications aids in understanding the physical systems and detection tools, as well as designing prediction systems.

Editorial Reviews“This is the first book on radar hydrology written by hydrologists. Whereas the excellent knowledge of radar technology by the authors permits an adequate coverage of the principles of rainfall rate estimation by radar, their hydrological background allows them to provide a unique message on the benefits (and on the remaining challenges) in exploiting radar techniques in hydrology. … In a clear and concise manner, the book combines topics from different scientific disciplines into a unified approach aiming to guide the reader through the requirements, strengths, and pitfalls of the application of radar technology in hydrology—mostly for flood prediction. Chapters include excellent discussion of theory, data analysis, and applications, along with several cross references for further review and useful conclusions.”

Posted on Wednesday Dec 17, 2014 11:59 am CST

DARPA 2014 Young Investigator Award

The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) has chosen Dr. Jessica Ruyle as the 2014 Young Investigator Award recipient. Dr. Ruyle is an ARRC and ECE Faculty member and is the first in ARRC and ECE to be awarded this prestigious award.

Posted on Friday Dec 05, 2014 05:12 pm CST

WNI Celebrates 10 years at the University of Oklahoma

Weather News International (WNI) celebrated ten (10) years of being on the University of Oklahoma South Campus. To celebrate this Anniversary WNI conducted the traditional Japanese Sake Barrel Ceremony, "Kagami-Biraki", where several barrels of sake were broken open by wooden mallets.

Posted on Wednesday Oct 29, 2014 04:04 pm CDT

Radar Innovations Lab Grand Opening!

The University of Oklahoma Advanced Radar Research Center's Radar Innovations Lab (RIL) held the Opening Dedication Ceremony last week, Oct 22, 2014 @1:30pm. Dr. Robert Palmer, Mrs. Palmer, University President David L. Boren, Dean Berrien Moore, Dr. David Bodine and others cut the ribbon at the entrance of the building to symbolize the opening of this building to the public.

Posted on Wednesday Oct 29, 2014 03:56 pm CDT

The PX-1000 at the Lobo Overlook in the Rio Grande for a Colorado Field Campaign

ARRC research scientist Dr. Pierre Kirstetter, along with Drs. Boon Leng Cheong and Tian-You Yu, deployed the PX-1000 for a field experiment to monitor weather and hydrology over areas affected by wildfire and debris flows in the Rio Grande area, Colorado. The radar has been operated from the Lobo overlook to monitor precipitation and complement the NEXRAD coverage in complex terrain. Further, a number of developmental radar-based (MRMS) products have been supplied to the experimental team for research and evaluation. The operations have been coordinated with the Rio Grande Watershed Emergency Action Coordination Team (RWEACT), the Colorado Water Conservation Board, the National Weather Service offices of Pueblo and Grand Junction and the NOAA National Severe Storms Laboratory. The experiment was conducted from September 1 to October 15, 2014. Posted on Saturday Oct 11, 2014 12:41 pm CDT

Tornado Debris Study Led By Dr. Palmer Appeared on NSF Science Now

Led by Dr. Robert Palmer, the project entitled "Understanding Polarimetric Radar Tornadic Debris Signatures Using Modeling, Simulations, and Field Measurements", which is funded by the NSF appeared on the Episode 25 of the NSF Science Now.

The entire Episode 25 can be found at the NSF Science 360 website.

Posted on Friday Jul 11, 2014 02:46 pm CDT